My First Vegan Thanksgiving

Almost done with week 3 of the vegan pledge.  It hasn’t always been easy, but it has ALWAYS been rewarding.  I’ve never felt better.

I’ve been tempted to stray in times of “starvation”.  Most people who know me also know my dad had a heart attack last week.  The hospital was closer to work than home, so I went to visit him during my lunch hour.  The hospital had an Au bon Pain, but by the time I got there, everything was picked over and there were no vegan options.  One day my friends brought some spaghetti marinara back to the office for me, the next day I pieced things together from my “snack” drawer.  I didn’t give in and that was the most important thing for me.  I’ve found that sticking to my convictions is a much stronger motivator than simply “being on a diet”.

Sooooo, yesterday was Thanksgiving.  I had a wonderful, wonderful evening with family and I didn’t eat turkey, stuffing or any other non-vegan sides or desserts.  The earth didn’t stop spinning or fall off its axis despite my apparent blasphemy.  I ate Gardein Savory Stuffed Turk’y.  www.gardein.com  I have to admit, I didn’t try it ahead of time and having heard some horror stories about tofurk’y, I was more than a little nervous.  I read the reviews on line and felt a little better.  I baked it up, it looked and smelled good.  I warmed the gravy, which also looked and smelled good.  Packed it all up and took it to mom’s.  Warmed it in the microwave and wahlah… it was actually really good!  My husband tried a piece and he liked it too.  I mashed up a sweet potato with some earth balance, soy milk and maple syrup, but was too full from the turk’y to eat it.  I had a piece of Amy’s organic vegan chocolate cake for dessert (never too full for chocolate cake, people!).  It was To. Die. For.  You non-vegans would love it, but it is no caloric bargain.

Backtracking a bit, for breakfast, I tried two slices of Light Life Smart Bacon.  Just as Starbucks has nothing to worry about as compared to my work made soy lattes, this bacon isn’t fooling anyone… however, it fits in with my lifestyle change and it wasn’t terrible along side my vegan blueberry waffle!  I’d like to try it in a BLT or a vegan grilled cheese sandwich. 

Today Brendan and I tried the Boca Original Meatless Chicken Nuggets for lunch.  They were really good and they earned the “Brendan Seal of Approval” which is even harder to earn than Life Cereal earning the Mikey seal of approval.  Bren had his with ketchup and I had mine with a little agave dijon dressing (Skinny Bitch in the Kitch). 

I’m really not into the mock meats so much, but with the holiday and my subsequent laziness today, it was nice to have them around and its good to know there are tasty items to fall back on in times of craving and need.

The added benefit to feeling great and enjoying some mental clarity… I dropped a few pounds.  My clothes were getting tight and now they’re not!

Gotta get to Yoga… once the church Christmas Fair and tricky tray is over next Saturday, I’ll have more time to devote to my practice!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jayedee aka ntiveheart
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 15:54:46

    have i told you lately that i’m proud of you? well, i am!
    you go girl! the journey certainly has it’s ups and downs,
    but it does promise to be a heck of a trip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

